Skip to main content

Early Savings Bond Redemptions Authorized in Arkansas Counties Affected by Severe Weather

July 11, 2017

As a savings bond agent serving Arkansas counties recently affected by severe weather, your institution is authorized to redeem Series EE and I paper savings bonds less than one-year-old presented during the months of June, July, and August 2017. Areas affected by the recent severe weather are listed below. This authorization pertains not only to bond owners still residing in affected areas, but also to those who evacuated from those areas. You should not require evidence of hardship, but must continue to abide by guidelines in the Guide to Cashing Savings Bonds (PD P 0022), as well as, savings bond processing instructions provided through This authorization will remain in effect through the end of August 2017.

Arkansas Counties

Benton, Boone, Carroll, Clay, Faulkner, Fulton, Jackson, Lawrence, Pulaski, Randolph, Saline, Washington, and Yell

Prairie, White, and Woodruff Counties for Individual Assistance (already designated for Public Assistance)

Attached are tables showing redemption values of Series EE and I bonds less than one year old.

Replacement of missing or destroyed bonds for people in the affected area will be expedited. Bond owners should include the word “DISASTER” on the front of envelopes containing completed and signed claim forms. Forms are available through TreasuryDirect's website (Off-site).

A TreasuryDirect account holder in, or evacuated from, one of the affected Arkansas counties can request a waiver of the minimum one-year holding period for savings bonds by sending an e-mail from within the account, briefly explaining the circumstances. If affected TreasuryDirect account holders seek help from you because they do not have access to their TreasuryDirect accounts, please obtain their names as well as contact information, including daytime telephone numbers, and pass this information along via e-mail to

Top of Page